has resulted in a wide range of unusual transport options. Perhaps the most outstanding is the cast iron Santa Justa lift. This national monument is a unique experience, riding in style up to pretty Largo do Carmo. Inaugurated in 1902, amazingly it is still part of the Lisbon public transport infrastructure.
THis is one of the most beautiful examples of the Manueline style of the sixteenth century. It is extensively decorated with Manueline motifs (letter M, armillary sphere, sailors capes, religious themes, niches and medallions). The side aisles of the cloister have ribbed vaults and arches, allowing views of the garden.
Empire Square is situated in the district of Belem, which is a must for tourists and even for a romantic evening with your partner. From the park you can see the surrounding buildings, like the Jeronimos Monastery and the Monument of the Discoveries on the banks of the River Tagus and the Belem Tower. It also boasts a huge fountain.
On the north side of Plaza del Comercio, the Arco da Rua Augusta is the start of Rua Augusta, the most important street of the Baixa. The Triumphal Arch da Rua Augusta was designed by architect Santos de Carvalho to celebrate the rebuilding of the city after the earthquake. Construction ended in 1873 and its statues represent, among others, Vasco de Gama and the Marquis of Pombal.
It is also known as the Church of Santa Engracia. It is a baroque building, built between 1682 and 1966. Yes 1966. From there the Portuguese saying "as works of Santa Engracia" to refer to an endless work. It happened to have the function of Pantheon from 1916. Among people buried there are writers, presidents of the Portuguese Republic, and also are also evoked through cenotaphs characters like Luis de Camoes, Vasco de Gama or Infante D. Enrique (although not buried here). Mainly emphasizes its great dome.
La Casa dos Bicos is a palace in the Alfama district, built in 1523 by order of Brás de Albuquerque as housing. Its facade is covered with carved stones with diamond-shaped tips called "cubic", these "cubics" demonstrate a clear influence of the Italian Renaissance. He built the house after a business trip to Italy (Palazzo dei Diamanti in Ferrara). After the 1755 earthquake the building was destroyed. The Alburquerque family sold the house in 1973 and it was used as a warehouse for a while, now it's under renovation and in the future the library will host the José Saramago Foundation.
Next to the Torre de Belém is this fantastic monument to Fighters, next to the Fort of Good Success. On the walls are carved the names of the soldiers who lost their lives in battles. On both sides of the monument there are 2 checkpoints where soldiers stand guard.